Derek receives Honorable Mention in the 2016 NSF GRFP

Congratulations to group member Derek for receiving an Honorable Mention in the 2016 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program

From the Department of Chemistry website:

Ten Department of Chemistry students, including six graduate students and four undergraduate seniors, have received honors in the 2016 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF) program.

Fellowship honorees include graduate students Constance Anderson, David Goldfeld and Courtney Olson, and undergraduate students Jacob Kautsky and Nathan Klein. Honorable mention honorees include graduate students Anna Huff, Jorden Johnson, James Moore and Derek Saxon, and undergraduate Stephanie Breunig.

The prestigious and competitive GRF program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees. Fellowship winners receive three years of support and a $34,000 annual stipend. The Department of Chemistry receives a $12,000 cost-of-education allowance. The NSF awarded fellowships to 2,000 individuals from among 17,000 applicants.